About Us  |  Send Us News  |  Advertise With Us  |  Contact Info  |  Feedback

Nepalnews.com News from Nepal as it Happens

 NN Special
SLC Result 2069
BBC Nepali Service
Nepal Khabar
China Radio
Old Publications
Hits FM 91.2
eXTReMe Tracker

Last Updated: Sat, 16.07.11 10:12

41 new municipalities declared

The government has declared 41 new municipalities across the country through the budget speech presented in the legislature parliament Friday.

The government restructured 161 Village Development Committees (VDC)s into 41 municipalities as per a recommendation from a panel led by Professor Surya Lal Amatya. The recommendation was made a decade earlier.

Three municipalities – Shankharapur in Sankhu area, Karyabinayak in Bhainsepati area and Champapur in Chapagaon area – have been added in Kathmandu valley.

With addition of 41 municipalities, the number of municipalities across the country has reached 99. In addition, there is one metropolitan city and four sub-metropolitan cities. Kathmandu is the metropolitan city and Lalitpur, Pokhara, Biratnagar and Birgunj are the sub-metropolitan cities.

Earlier, there were 58 municipalities. The number of VDCs has reduced from 3915 to 3754.

The newly declared municipalities include Panchkhal in Kavre, Chautara in Sindhupalchowk, Nilkantha in Dhading, Khairenitar Dulegaunda and Bandipur in Tanahu, Gaidakot and Sunaul in Nawalparasi, Besisahar in Lamjung, Kusma in Parbat, Beni in Myagdi, Tamghas in Gulmi, and Sandhikharka in Arghakhanchi.

Likewise, Taplejung, Bhojpur, Phidim in Panchthar, Birtamod in Jhapa, Urlabari in Morang, Myanglung in Tehrathum, Diktel in Khotang, Katari in Udaypur, Kanchanpur Rupnagar and Mohanpur Kalyanpur in Saptari, Ramnagar Mirchaiya in Siraha, Dhanushadham and Sakhuwa Mahendranagar in Dhanusha, Nigaul Gaushala in Mahottari, Hariaun in Sarlahi, Manthali in Ramechhap, Chandranighapur in Rautahat and Jitpur in Bara have also been declared municipalities.

Chandanpur of Jumla has become the first and only municipality in Karnali zone. Pyuthan, Salyan, Kohalpur in Banke, Mangalsen and Sanphebagar in Achham, Chainpur in Bajhang and Rajapur in Bardiya have also been declared municipalities.

The government can declare an area with basic infrastructure like electricity, drinking water, hospital, schools, market and access to transportation (via land or air) a municipality if it can raise at least Rs 1 million annual revenue from internal resources. There has to be population of at least 20,000 in municipalities of the hilly and Terai region and 10,000 in municipalities of the Himalayan region. nepalnews.com