Wednesday, 4th March 2015

Constitution draft committee members sworn-in

Privacy Policy

Constituent Assembly (CA) Chairman Subash Chandra Nembang administered the oath of office and secrecy to lawmakers included in the Constitution Draft Committee, an important body to steer the constitution-writing process.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Singha Durbar. On the occasion, the CA Chairman urged the lawmakers to take the constitution drafting task ahead smoothly. In the previous CA, the Constitutional Committee had the same portfolio of current Constitution Draft Committee.

Putting their views in the committee meeting held following the oath-taking ceremony, its members stressed the need for settling the primary contents of constitution-writing at first by preparing a work plan and becoming clear about its jurisdictions before entering into the regular agenda.

They stressed the need for electing committee chairman as early as possible, documenting works executed by the previous CA, establishing a library, accelerating its (committee) activities, holding regular meeting and of proper management of its Secretariat. They argued that the Secretariat should brief the Committee about basic principles of constitution drafting, international norms and values to this end.

Moreover, they stressed that the Committee should not accept any financial and physical assistance from non government and international organisations come through the unauthorised channel.

They sought a guiding role from the CA Chairman to prevent any untoward mistakes and faults in the constitution-making and facilitate the political parties to forge necessary consensus regarding the constitution-drafting. They also laid emphasis on activating the constitutional Dialogue Committee and Constitution Documentation and Determination Committee.

Ramchandra Poudel, Ram Krishna Yadav, Girirajmani Pokhrel, Prakash Jwala, Gagan Thapa, Ram Narayan Bidari, Hit Raj Pandey, Ganeshman Pun, Sherdhan Rai, Astalaxmi Shakya, Sher Bahadur Tamang, Ranju Kumari Jha, Kamala Panta, Hari Prasad Nepal and Goplaman Shrestha were among those putting their views in the meeting.

Committee's senior most member Bharat Mohan Adhikari presided over the meeting. As per the meeting decisions, those lawmakers who failed to attend today's swearing-in ceremony would be administered oath in the next meeting scheduled for April 13. The meeting agreed to prepare committee procedure as well. Currently, there are 67 members in the Constitution Draft Committee despite the provision of 73. The Committee is assigned to prepare the draft of constitution following the proposal approved by the CA.



Google Plus