Saturday, 7th March 2015

Sharma appointed new Chief Justice

Privacy Policy

Hours after getting the nod from the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC), Damodar Prasad Sharma has been appointed Chief Justice of Supreme Court on Friday.

President Dr Ram Baran Yadav appointed Sharma as the Chief Justice on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council after the parliamentary hearing committee confirmed his name for the top judiciary post this afternoon.

President Yadav administered the oath of office and secrecy to CJ Sharma at the Office of the President, Shital Niwas, amid a ceremony this evening.  

Vice President Paramananda Jha, Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, Speaker Subash Nembang, heads of different constitutional bodies, deputy prime ministers, cabinet ministers, SC justices, senior government officials including other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

However, Sharma will serve as CJ till October 10 this year as he will retire after that due to age factor.

Earlier today, the parliamentary hearing committee headed by Kul Bahadur Gurung confirmed Sharma as the new CJ with two-third majority.



Google Plus