Saturday, 28th February 2015

UML votes to elect new leadership

Privacy Policy

Voting has begun in the ninth national convention of CPN-UML on Friday to elect a new party leadership.

The voting was scheduled to begin early in the morning at 8 a.m. However, due to technical problems, the voting began only at 5 p.m. in the evening.

Senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal did not agree with the idea of casting vote through electronic machine, which was the reason for the delay, according to insiders.

Votes were cast through ballot papers. More than 400 candidates are contesting for 15 top posts and 159 central committee member posts.

Senior leader Nepal and parliamentary party leader KP Oli are contesting for the post of party chairperson, as they have prepared two different lists of the proposed officials.

From Nepal panel, Yubraj Gyawali, Rajendra Pandey, Asta Laxmi Shakya, Lalbabu Pandit and Bhim Rawal are contesting for the five posts of party vice-chairpersons.

From Oli panel, Bamdev Gautam, Pradip Nepal, Bidya Bhandari, Kiran Gurung and Dharmanath Prasad Sah are contesting for the same posts.

More than 2000 delegates are eligible to cast their votes in the UML's internal contest for the party leadership.




Google Plus