Friday, 27th February 2015

UCPN (M) walks out as ruling parties allegedly backtrack from four-point agreement

Privacy Policy

The UCPN (Maoist) leaders including chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal have walked out a three-party meeting alleging the ruling Nepali Congress and CPN-UML of not being serious in implementing a four-point agreement signed earlier.

Prime Minister Sushil Koirala convened the meeting at his official residence at Baluwatar, Kathmandu on Sunday to figure out differences with the key opposition party – the UCPN (M), and chart out ways for drafting a timely constitution. In particular, the meeting was supposed to focus on the nomination of 26 Constituent Assembly (CA) members.

As the UCPN (M) leaders would narrate, the NC and UML leaders said in the meeting that the relevance of the four-point agreement has come to an end. It prompted the Maoists to leave the meeting unfinished, according to them.

“We clearly demanded with them to implement the four-point agreement and move ahead. But the NC and UML leaders did not even want to touch the issue. It was meaningless to continue the meeting without discussing the agreement first,” says UCPN (M) leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha after the meeting.

The four-point agreement was signed among NC, UML, UCPN (M) and five Madhesi parties on December 24, 2013 following the completion of CA elections on November 19 the same year.

The four points of the agreement include: setting up a parliamentary committee to investigate issues seen during the CA polls, forming a committee comprising top leaders of major political parties, promulgating a constitution in a year and taking initiatives to form a truth and reconciliation commission.

The UCPN (M) leaders were particularly interested to form a committee something in line with the previous High Level Political Committee (HLPC) and designate its chair Dahal as the eternal chief of the committee.

Responding to Dahal’s interest, NC vice president Ram Chandra Poudel said in the meeting that the implementation of the four-point agreement is no more necessary.

Likewise, the UML leaders stressed that such a high level committee could be formed but its leadership has to be rotated and that any particular leader cannot be the permanent chief of the committee.

Apart from Dahal and Shrestha, UCPN (M) senior leader Baburam Bhattarai also attended the meeting. Similarly, NC leader Ram Sharan Mahat was also there along with PM Koirala and Ram Chandra Poudel.

On behalf of UML, senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal, general secretary Ishwor Pokhrel and vice chair Bhim Rawal participated in the meeting.



Google Plus