Friday, 6th March 2015

Task force formed to hold all-party conference as per Baidya's demand

Privacy Policy

Nepal's major political parties have agreed to form a task force on Thursday as per the demand of CPN-Maoist led by Mohan Baidya to conduct an all-party conference.

A meeting held among Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and UCPN (Maoist) along with the CPN-M, which has no participation in the Constituent Assembly, took a decision to this effect today. The meeting was held at Prime Minister Sushil Koirala's official residence at Baluwatar, Kathmandu.

The eight-member task force includes two members each from the four parties that took part in today's talks.

Krishna Situala and Narahai Acharya will join the task force on behalf of Nepali Congress. Likewise, Bhim Rawal and Agni Kharel on behalf of UML and Krishna Bahadur Mahara and Khimlal Devkota on behalf of UCPN (Maoist) will be the part of the task force. The CPN-M will send Dev Gurung and Pampha Bhusal to the task force.

After holding discussions, this task force will submit a report at the earliest. "An all party conference will be held based on the same report," says Narayan Kaji Shrestha, a senior leader of UCPN (Maoist).

"A three day long discussion at Baluwatar has decided to have deliberations on all issues either covered or uncovered by the Constituent Assembly to pave way for an all-party conference."

As per an earlier timetable of Constituent Assembly, the parties had to reach a consensus on the contentious issues of the constitution by this Saturday (September 6).

With this new understanding, the timetable is expected to be postponed further without hampering the constitution promulgation deadline of January 22, 2015.



Google Plus