Friday, 25th April 2014

CAN unveils final squad for ICC One-day Cricket World Cup 2014

Privacy Policy

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has unveiled the final squad for the upcoming ICC One-day Cricket World Cup Qualifiers scheduled to be held in New Zealand from January 13 to February 1, 2014.

CAN on Sunday named 15 players and four reserve player for the tournament, according to a press statement issued by the association.

The team comprises of captain Paras Khadka, vice-captain Gyanendra Malla, Sarad Vesawkar, Som Pal Kami, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Prithu Baskota, Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee, Anil Mandal, Sagar Pun, Jitendra Mukhiya, Mahesh Chettri, Subas Khakurel and Avinash Karn.

The reserve players include Naresh Bahadur Budhayer, Ram Naresh Giri, Amrit Bhattarai and Rahul BK.

Nepal has been drawn along with Scotland, UAE, Canada and Hong Kong in Group A, while Group B comprises of Netherlands, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Kenya, Namibia and Uganda.

These nations have qualified to this round through the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Divisions.

Nepal will take on UAE in its inaugural match on January 13, Scotland on January 16, Honk Kong on January 19 and Canada on January 21.

The top three teams from each group will progress to the Super Six stage while the top two finalists from the Super Six stage will qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup scheduled from February 14 to March 2015 in Australia and New Zealand.



Google Plus