Saturday, 28th February 2015

Sagarmatha Legends beats Tej to advance to semis berth of Ncell NPL 2014

Privacy Policy

Sagarmatha’s Chandra Sawad receives player of the match award in Ncell NPL 2014 on Tuesday.Sagarmatha Legends has confirmed its place in the semifinals of the ongoing Ncell Nepal Premier League (NPL) 2014 on Tuesday.

Sagarmatha secured two wickets victory against leader Panchakanya Tej in its last group stage match to enter the semis berth. With the win, Sagarmatha has climbed to the third spot in the League’s table with 6 points.

Panchakanya Tej and Jagdamba Giants have advanced to the semifinals after winning their respective matches on Monday. Both the teams have one match in hand.

In the match held at Fapla Cricket Ground in Dhangadi, Tej was packed for 84 runs in 27.1 overs of the allotted 50 overs as its batsmen could not stay in the pitch against Sagarmatha’s bowlers.  Rahul BK claimed three wickets while Nishchal Pandey, Mehboob Alam and Chandra Sawad claimed two wickets each.

None of the batsmen could score above 20 runs as Sunny Pun was out for only 18 runs, captain Sharad Vesawkar 15 runs, Bhuban Karki 13 runs and Aarif Sheikh 10 runs.

Despite meager target of 85 runs, Sagarmatha was on pressure off 25 overs as it was at 71 runs with two wickets left. However, it managed to chase the target in 27.3 overs with the loss of eight wickets.

Chandra Sawad and Rahul BK scored 16 runs each while Mehboob Alam made 15 runs and Dilip Nath 12 runs for the winning side.

These teams were powerful at bowling compared to batting in today’s match.

Similarly, Paras Khadka led Vishal Group Warriors defeated Kantipur Gurkhas by eight wickets to register second win in the League after playing five matches.

Though Warriors has climbed to the fourth place with 4 points, its fate for the next round has not been confirmed yet. It has to wait for the remaining matches set for Wednesday.

In the match held at Covered Hall Ground in Kanchanpur, Warriors easily chased the target of 96 runs scoring 99 runs with the loss of two wickets in 20 overs. Opener Raju Rijal scored 36 runs, Deepesh Khatri 27 runs and Manjeet Shrestha 19 runs.

Kantipur Gurkhas was bowled out just to 95 runs in 29.3 overs as Sushan Bhari alone claimed six wickets and Ravi Bhatta three wickets for the Warriors.



Google Plus