Friday, 6th March 2015

Tamrakar Invitational Badminton Tournament starts

Privacy Policy

The Third Tamrakar Invitational Badminton Tournament 2014 kicked off in Lalitpur on Saturday.

Former player Kumar Mohan Bahadur Shahi and Prem Krishna Tamrakar, the founding president of Tamrakar Kul Deuta Ugrachandi Mai Preservation Committee, played a match to inaugurate the tournament.

The inaugural ceremony was attended by the president of Lalitpur Badminton Association Druba Maharjan and different committees-based in Lalitpur.

The eight-day event features men's doubles events in two categories -- Level ‘A’ and Level ‘B’, according to the organiser Youth and Sports Sub-committee.

Level ‘A’ includes 13 senior pairs while Level ‘B’ have 14 amateur pairs, Bimal Tamrakar, the coordinator of the event, says.
The winning pair in each category will bag Rs 10,000 while the runners-up duo in each level will win Rs 6,000.

The event will also feature 5 km and 3 km races on the final day.

The estimated cost of organising the event is Rs 350,000, the organisers say.



Google Plus