Tuesday, 3rd March 2015

Victorious U-16 squad arrives home making history

Privacy Policy

The Nepali U-16 squad arrived home on Thursday after a historical victory in the ACC U-16 Premier 2014 held Malaysia.

U-16-Nepalese-cricket-teamNepal Sports Council member-secretary Yuvaraj Lama and Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) representatives, among others, received the team at the Tribhuvan International Airport.

This is the first time Nepal has clinched the ACC U-16 title. It finished the tournament unbeaten. On Wednesday, it secured the title, beating its nearest competitor -- host Malaysia -- by 32 runs in the last match of the tournament. It also beat Thailand, Singapore, Oman and Bahrain in the six-nation league.

In previous tournaments, Nepal had finished runner-up in 2010 and 2012. Nepal had lost to Singapore by 68 runs in 2010 and to Malaysia by a wicket in 2012, when the U-16 tournament for the top-ranked non-test playing Asian nations was called ACC U-16 Elite.  

After this victory, Nepal has now won all the age-group titles. It clinched the U-15 title twice, the U-17 once and the U-19 four times.

Meanwhile, CAN also announced Rs 20,000 cash reward to the each member of the team.

THE NEPALI SQUAD: Sumit Maharjan (captain), Ashif Seikh (vice-captain), Pranit Thapa, Susanta Singh Thapa, Pawan Sarraf, Jitendra Singh Thakuri, Rabindra Shahi, Rabi Kumar Shah, Rabi Chand, Ashish Pokhrel, Bijay Chaudhary, Anil Kharel, Rijan Dhakal and Roshan Adhikari.

Coach Basanta Shahi, team manager Ranjeet Tamang, assistant-coach Raju Basnyat.



Google Plus