Sunday, 1st March 2015

Cabinet okays Rs 900,000 reward for U-16 cricket team

Privacy Policy

The government decided on Friday to approve the sports ministry's proposal to award Nepal’s U-16 cricket team a cash reward for winning the ACC U-16 Premier 2014 title for the first time in a tournament held in Malaysia from August 14 to 20.

The Nepal under-16 team at the Tribhuvan International Airport on August 21after arriving from Malaysia where the team won the ACC U-16 Premier title, remaining undefeated throughout the tournament, held from August 14 to August 20. (NN Files/Narayan Maharjan)A cabinet meeting approved awarding of Rs 900,000 in total to the U-16 squad, including the coaches and a manager for its historical achievement.

Previously on August 22, Purushottam Poudel, the Minister for Youth and Sports, had announced a reward of Rs 50,000 to each of the U-16 team members. However, the decision had to be approved by the council of ministers.

On the same day, the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN), had also rewarded the team members with Rs 20,000 each.

SQUAD: Sumit Maharjan (captain), Ashif Seikh (vice-captain), Pranit Thapa, Susanta Singh Thapa, Pawan Saraf, Jitendra Singh Thakuri, Rabindra Shahi, Rabi Kumar Shah, Rabi Chand, Ashish Pokhrel, Bijay Chaudhary, Anil Kharel, Rijan Dhakal and Roshan Adhikari

Head-coach: Basanta Shahi; assistant-coach: Raju Basnyat; and manager: Ranjeet Tamang



Google Plus