Friday Aug 12, 2022
Friday Aug 12, 2022

CPN (Maoist Center): Inaugural session begins

2021 Dec 26, 16:39, Kathmandu
Chairman Pushpa Kmala Dahal welcoming PM Deuba. Photo: RSS

The inaugural session of the eighth general convention of the CPN (Maoist Center) has started with the slogan of 'Historic First National Conference of the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Center) for new revolutionary ideas and revolutionary party building'.

The Maoists have organized the convention on the occasion of the Memorial Day of Chinese Communist Party leader Mao Zedong. The inaugural session has started at Pragya Bhawan in Kamaladi.

Hundreds of Maoist leaders and cadres are present at the Pragya-Pratishthan premises. When many leaders and cadres are present in the narrow space, the management is in turmoil. The inaugural session was attended by Nepali Congress President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN (Unified Socialist) Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal, Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal Chairman Upendra Yadav, and Rashtriya Janamorcha Nepal Vice-Chairman Durga Poudel. Similarly, RPP General Secretary Kunti Shahi is also present.

A total of 1,631 people will be represented at the conference. There will be a total of 1,631 participants including 1,483 selected through regular process and 148 nominated. According to the UCPN (M) central office, there will be 179 participants from the organizing committee. Similarly, 149 delegates have been elected from the Advisory Council, 125 from the Senior Communist Forum, 102 from the Central Department, 27 from the Central Representative, and 803 from the Provincial Representatives.

Similarly, 96 participants from Province 1, 106 from Province 2, 128 from Bagmati, 74 from Gandaki, 105 from Lumbini, 87 from Karnali, 84 from Far West, 34 from migration, 42 from special, and 83 from liaison coordination have been arranged.

For the first time, the Maoists have given a special role to women, Dalits, janajatis, and indigenous communities in the central committee as per the constitutional provision. Women have been allotted a share equal to 35 percent. The UCPN (M) had convened a ward conference of the party on November 20. For that, the Election Commission was formed on behalf of the party under the coordination of Bishnu Pukar Shrestha.

The arrangement has been made to view the inauguration site directly in the premises of Pragya Bhawan through Flex. On Saturday alone, the Maoists had turned the national conference into a general convention.


Pragya Bhawan National Conference General Convention Inaugural Session eighth general convention CPN (Maoist Center) Sher Bahadur Deuba Madhav Kumar Nepal Upendra Yadav Pushpa Kamal Dahal
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal