Tuesday Jul 16, 2024
Tuesday Jul 16, 2024

JSP-N's Yadav-Bhattarai faction holds unilateral meet

2021 May 15, 15:19, Kathmandu
This combo image shows Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal Chair Upendra Yadav and Baburam Bhattarai. Photo: NepalNews

The faction of Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal led by the party chairperson Upendra Yadav and Baburam Bhattarai is holding a meeting today.

The leaders of JSP-N who have divided over joining an alliance to form a government has called for a unilateral meeting.

Though Yadav seemed to be in favour of joining the new government, Central Chairperson of Janata Samajwadi Party, Mahanta Thakur was against the idea. Thakur was against forging coalition with Nepali Congress and CPN Maoist Centre to form an alternate government.

He was of the view that issues raised by the party with Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli were moving in the right direction, Thakur mentioned that more than forming a government his party’s priority was in getting the party’s agendas addressed.

Yadav-Bhattarai faction is holding the Central working Committee meeting the day after Mahantha Thakur appointed Rajendra Mahato parliamentary party leader. The decision to appoint Mahato as the parliamentary leader was taken during the meeting of the party leaders on Thursday.

It has been learnt that the meeting commenced at Balkumari-based party office was preparing to take action against party leader Thakur.

Meanwhile, the party's Yadav-Bhattarai faction and another led by Thakur have been the faction led by Thakur have claimed a majority in the 52-member executive committee of the party.

The faction led by Thakur has shown interest in joining the government led by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli who was reappointed to the post after main opposition Nepali Congress, CPN Maoist Centre and JSP-N could not forge the coalition to form a government as the President had set the deadline at 9:00 pm on May 13

CPN-UML Chairperson Oli was reappointed as prime minister as per Article 76 (3) of the Constitution of Nepal.


Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal JSP-N Upendra Yadav Baburam Bhattarai Rajendra Mahato Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal