Monday Aug 15, 2022
Monday Aug 15, 2022

UML wins in Birendranagar municipality of Surkhet

2022 May 19, 18:37, Karnali
A view of Birendranagar Chowk in Surkhet district, on October 28, 2021. Photo: Suresh Chaudhary/NepalNews

CPN (UML) candidate has won the post of Chief and Deputy Chief of Birendranagar Municipality of Surkhet, the capital of Karnali. Defeating the Nepali Congress-CPN (Maoist Center) alliance, CPN-UML's Mohan Maya Dhakal and Neelkantha Khanal have won the post of chief and deputy chief respectively.

Dhakal defeated Congress candidate Upendra Bahadur Khadka by a margin of 544 votes. Dhakal got 16,038 votes and his nearest rival Khadka got 15,484 votes.

Vijayi Khanal got 20,364 votes and Shanti Dhakal, the UCPN (Maoist) candidate from the coalition got 11,533 votes. In Birendranagar, which has a total of 16 wards, UML has won 11 wards and Congress has won five wards. In the 2017 AD election, the Congress had won the post of chief and the UML had won the post of deputy chief.

This time the Rastriya Prajatantra Party has brought the third vote. The party's chief candidate Mukund Shyam Giri got 10,000 votes and deputy chief candidate Laxmi Kumari Sarki got 3,697 votes. Out of the nine in Surkhet, only the election results of Simta village municipality is yet to come. The UML candidate has taken the lead there.


election results election nepal Karnali UML wins in Birendranagar municipality of Surkhet Birendranagar Municipality Surkhet
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal