Tuesday May 28, 2024
Tuesday May 28, 2024

Office of Election Officer to be established from Jan. 1

2023 Dec 29, 12:19,

 Office of the Election Officer is to be established in all provinces from January 1 for the National Assembly elections scheduled for January 25.

The Election Commission on December 28 had appointed district judges of seven districts as the election officer by National Assembly Election Act, 2055, to be effective from January 1.

Following the appointment, election officers should establish the Office of the Election Officer in the respective provinces, said EC Spokesperson, Shaligram Sharma Paudel.

The EC has appointed District Court Morang judge Durga Prasad Dhungel in Koshi province, District Court Dhanusha judge Narayan Prasad Subedi in Madhes province, District Court Makawanpur judge Mahendra Bahadur Karki in Bagmati province, District Court Kaski judge Keshav Prasad Bastola in Gandaki province, District Court Dang judge Kripasur Karki in Lumbini province, District Court Surkhet judge Bishnu Prasad Aryal in Karnali province and District Court Kailali judge Om Prasad Aryal in Sudurpaschim province.

January 8 is fixed for the filing of nomination papers of candidates for the National Assembly election. The tenure of 20 upper house members, including 19 elected and one member nominated by the President, is terminating on March 3. The legal provision requires that the election be held one month before the conclusion of the tenure.


National Assembly The Election Commission Morang Bagmati Province Kaski Gandaki Province
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal