Saturday Feb 24, 2024
Saturday Feb 24, 2024

Expelled lawmakers demand reinstatement

2021 Jul 28, 19:52, Kathmandu
Central Office of CPN Maoist Centre in Paris Danda, Koteshwor, Kathmandu.

Four lawmakers of CPN (Maoist Centre) who were expelled from the party for joining the opposition CPN-UML have sought the help of the Supreme Court to reinstate their membership of the House of Representatives. After being expelled from the party's membership, they have lost their seat in the lower house of the parliament.

Leader Lekhraj Bhatta, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Prabhu Shah and Gauri Shanker Chaudhary filed a writ petition at the apex court today. They have demanded a mandamus and certiorari order as per Article 133 (2) and (3) of the Constitution to reinstate their membership of the parliament.

The CPN (Maoist Centre) and its Chair, the Election Commission and Federal Parliament Secretariat have been named as defendants in the petition.

CPN Maoist Centre Expelled lawmakers of CPN (Maoist Centre) Lekhraj Bhatta Top Bahadur Rayamajhi Prabhu Shah Gauri Shanker Chaudhary membership of the House of Representatives
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754

[email protected] [email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal