Tuesday Jul 16, 2024
Tuesday Jul 16, 2024

Seven JSP MPs submit application to EC seeking legitimacy

2024 May 06, 5:20,

Seven members of parliament (MPs) have submitted an application to the Election Commission seeking legitimacy.

With this, the party is on the brink of split.

JSP's MP Sushila Shrestha told Rastriya Samachar Samiti (RSS) that a group of seven MPs led by Ashok Rai submitted the application claiming for the same.

"Now we are seven parliamentarians. More and more MPs are joining. They are in touch with us," said leader Shrestha, who is one among them to the application seeking legitimate status.

Shrestha justified that they took the move to effectively take their agenda to the people and to further strengthen internal democracy.

It may be noted that another faction in the party registered the application while party Chairperson, also Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Health and Population Upendra Yadav, is currently in the US.

EC's Assistant Spokesperson Ramdutta Pande confirmed about seven MPs of JSP registering an application and said that the EC was looking into it.

The party has 12 MPs in the federal parliament at present. Of them, seven differing MPs took to the EC, claiming themselves as the legitimate party.

Those signing in the application are Ashok Rai, Nawal Kishore Shah Sudi, Pradeep Yadav, Ranju Jha, Birendra Mahato, Hasina Khan and Sushila Shrestha.

It is said that nine party members from central executive committee and 27 from central committee are in favor of leader Rai's group.

Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


Kathmandu, Nepal,


[email protected]

Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal